Kentucky Derby & Churchill Downs Race Track Winners

The Kentucky Derby, held the first Saturday in May, is the first "leg," or competition, of horse racing's "Triple Crown." Can you name the other two races? They are the Preakness Stakes in Maryland and the Belmont Stakes in New York.

Today the Kentucky Derby and Churchill Downs face serious challenges from other gambling arenas and most of the same issues it has always faced. By 1996 the purse for the Kentucky Derby had reached $1 million. The Churchill Downs' board has committed itself to a $50 million makeover, while the track's name and twin-spired logo are zealously guarded corporate trademarks. But whatever the difficulties the board faces, whatever challenges confront racing, the Derby or the Downs, the fact remains the Derby has been run every year since 1875. It is a national treasure, and one which the state of Kentucky and city of Louisville cherish as an integral part of its culture. Simply put, and without exaggeration or insincerity, there is no greater moment in the state than the call to the Derby post. The excitement, the sentimentality, the Derby betting and the Derby parties, the mint juleps after a two-week Dery Festival--there is simply no other sporting event in the world whose spirit flows more thoroughly through the blood of its fans.

Churchill Downs Mobile Track odds

Kentucky Derby Winners

2017 Kentucky Derby winner: Always Dreaming

Always dreaming became the winner of the Kentucky Derby 143th held in Louisville last Saturday.

Always Dreaming won with an official time of 2:03:59. Lookin at Lee came in second, Battle of Midwayla came third and Classic Fourth Empire. The 2017 Kentucky Derby was being described as an open race with no clear favorites.

The Coach Todd Pletcher secured the second career winning Derby in the competition where he tied the record for most early career history with 48. Also Jockey John Velazquez got his second Derby win.

2016 Kentucky Derby winner: Nyquist

Nyquist is halfway to becoming the third consecutive horse to claim the first two legs of the Triple Crown after Saturday's triumph in the 142nd Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs.

Nyquist was named for Swedish ice hockey player Gustav Nyquist. who plays for the Detroit Red Wings, the team tweeted its congratulations.

Exaggerator and Gun Runner finished second and third, respectively, in the field of 20.

2015 Kentucky Derby winner: American Pharoah

Victor Espinoza finally got his Triple Crown victory in 2015 with American Pharoah. He won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness with War Emblem (2002) and California Chrome (2014), but did not capture the Belmont with them.

American Pharoah outran a solid field to win the 2015 Kentucky Derby and become the latest horse to claim the "Run for the Roses" and the first leg of a possible Triple Crown.

2014 Kentucky Derby winner: California Chrome

A horse with a humble pedigree. A couple of working stiff owners. A 77-year-old trainer with his first Kentucky Derby horse. Even Hollywood couldn't have made this up.

California Chrome made it look easy on Saturday, pulling away down the stretch to win the Derby by 1 3/4 lengths.

His trainer, Art Sherman, became the oldest trainer to win the Derby, 59 years after he traveled from California as an exercise rider for Derby winner Swaps. He watched that race from the barn area; this time he smelled red roses in the winner's circle.

2013 Kentucky Derby winner: Orb

The revelers were sloppy, the grounds were sloppy and the racetrack was sloppy, but Orb apparently did not mind much, and afterward his owners and trainer could not have been happier with the way the day played out.

The late-closing Orb, ridden by the red-hot Joel Rosario, found a way to win despite his lack of experience on a wet track, trudging to victory in the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby on Saturday at Churchill Downs.Bodemeister and Union Rags went off at 4-1 and 5-1, respectively.

2012 Kentucky Derby winner: I'll Have Another

I'll Have Another is the 2012 Kentucky Derby despise he went off at 15-1, while Bodemeister and Union Rags went off at 4-1 and 5-1, respectively.

I'll Have Another closed hard in the final lengths to score an upset. Bodemeister had the lead heading around the back stretch, setting an excellent pace, with Trinniberg and Hansen behind, and all three horses stayed near the front of the pack into the race's final furlongs

2011 Kentucky Derby winner: Animal Kingdom

The first jewel in the Triple Crown, the Run for the Roses offers the largest purse - $2,000,000 - bringing out all of the best 3 year-olds up to the challenge.

Animal Kingdom, who had never raced on dirt before, reacted to his new rider the way a champion should, charging down the middle of the stretch to win by 2 3/4 lengths in front of a crowd of 164,858, the largest in Derby history.

2010 Kentucky Derby Winner

Super Saver Wins Kentucky Derby 2011. Jockey Calvin Borel captures his third Kentucky Derby in four years with the win aboard Super Saver.

The jockey's magic touch on his home track gave trainer Todd Pletcher his first Derby victory after 24 failures with a 2-length victory over Ice Box.

2009 kentucky derby winner

The 2009 Kentucky Derby results are in and Mine That Bird won the the jewel in the Triple Crown of Racing as a 50 to 1 long shot today.

Mine That Bird is the long-shot winner of the 135th Kentucky Derby held Saturday, May 2nd at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The Derby featured a full lineup of 19 three-year-olds, after favorite I Want Revenge scratched this morning due to a weak left hoof, in the run for the roses and $2 million first prize.

Mine That Bird paid $103.20 after covering 1 1/4 miles in 2:02.66 seconds over a sloppy racetrack. The win payoff was the second-largest in Derby history behind the 1913 Derby winner Donerail that went off at 91.5 to 1 odds. The final 2009 Kentucky Derby Results & Payouts are official.


US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.