Bet Triple Crown Horse Racing Now

 Top Race Books



2018 Preakness Stakes Betting Odds

The Preakness Stakes is the classic 1 3/16 mile thoroughbred horse race of the Triple Crown. Horse Racing Betting Triple Crown Gambling will cover all of its exciting horse racing details together with great horse betting odds, racetrack info, all horse entries & Preakness Stakes important info so you get the best out of the middle jewel of the most important horse race of the year.

RaceBook Spotlight

BookMaker Racebook offers all the Triple Crown action that you have been waiting for, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes, Kentucky Derby Odds, results, schedules, news & more. Get ready to place your bet in one of the safest, secure and most honest Online Horse betting Site. - This site gives you action on all kind of sports around the world.

Preakness Stakes History

Pimlico Race Course first opened in 1870, organized and built quickly under the direction of Maryland Governor Oden Bowie, to honor the first great horse to race there, Preakness, Governor Bowie proposed a stakes race for three-year-olds at 1-1/2 miles. The Preakness Stakes, the second jewel of American racing's Triple Crown, was thus inaugurated in 1873, two years before Col. M. Lewis Clark's vision would bring the Kentucky Derby into the world.

The Preakness stayed at Pimlico throughout the 1870s and `80s, but financial problems struck the track and the Maryland Jockey Club, and the race was moved to New York in 1890, when it was run at Morris Park. The Preakness continued to be run there off and on for nearly two decades, with Gravesend race track in Brooklyn hosting the race 15 times.

In 1909, with the Maryland Jockey Club emerging from its financial difficulties, the Preakness came back home and has never left. That year's renewal was contested at one mile. The race was stretched out to 1-1/8 miles in 1911. The race was established at its current length of 1-3/16 miles in 1925. For most of the 1920s and early `30s, the race was contested in early May, before the Kentucky Derby. In 1930, Gallant Fox's Triple Crown-winning effort required him winning the Preakness on May 9 and the Kentucky Derby eight days later. In the mid-1930s, the race was moved to mid-May, putting it one week after the Kentucky Derby. The current spacing of two weeks between races was established by the late 1940s.

Pimlico Racetrack - Pimlico Horse Racing Facts

The Pimlico Race Track is home of the Preakness Stakes. It first opened its doors on October 25, 1870. Did you know that Pimlico Race Track is the second oldest racetrack in the nation? It is only second to the famous Saratoga Race Track. Saratoga opened just six years earlier, in 1864. The Pimlico Race Track has been serving up high quality horse racing action to Baltimoreans for well over a century now. The track has been home to countless races that featured legendary horses such Sir Barton, Cigar, Man o' War, Secretariat, Citation and Seabiscuit.

The Pimlico Race Track was a modest track that is constructed on 70 acres of land. Back in those days, the land was only $23,500. In fact, the entire racetrack was constructed for $25,000. Back in those days, this was a pretty hefty sum, still small compared to today's real estate prices. Soon after, the Pimlico Race Track became a staple in the world of horse racing. As it grew, the Pimlico Race Track developed its own nickname "Old Hilltop". The name came from a small rise in the infield, which was a favorite gathering point for trainers and horse racing fans alike. Today, the Pimlico Race Track operates on 140 acres of land, entirely in Baltimore and the Old Hilltop has been removed as it obstructed view of those in the stands.

Pimlico Racetrack has a Loam oval track, a Turf course and a Grass course. Below are the track facts:

Pimlico Racetrack Facts

Loam Track
Length of stretch from last turn to finish line : 1,152 feet
Width of track : 70 feet
Has a six-furlong and 1 mile chutes

Turf Course
7/8 of a mile inside main track
Has an aluminum inner rail

Pilmico Stakes Information

* Date: Saturday May 20, 2017
* Location: Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, MD

The Preakness Stakes is an American Grade I stakes race 1-3/16 mile (1.91 km) thoroughbred horse race for three-year-old horses, held on the third Saturday in May each year at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. Colts and geldings carry 126 pounds (57 kg); fillies 121 lb (55 kg).


2017 Preakness Stakes Horse Contenders

Horse Trainer Odds Jockey
1. Always DreamingTodd PletcherLive Odds  John Velazquez
2. Classic EmpireMark Case Live Odds  Julien R. Leparoux
3. Lookin At Lee Steven AsmussenLive Odds  Corey Lanerie
4. GirvinJoe SharpLive Odds  Mike Smith
5. GunnveraAntonio SanoLive Odds  Javier Castellano
6. Conquest Mo Money Miguel HernandezLive Odds   Jorge Carreno
7. Iliad Flavien PratLive Odds  Doug O'Neill
8. Lancaster Bomber  Aidan O'BrienLive Odds  Donnacha O'Brien
9. MalagacyTodd PletcherLive Odds  Javier Castellano
10. Royal MoJohn ShirreffsLive Odds  Gary Stevens

2017 Preakness Stakes 142 winner: Cloud Computing

The Venezuelan rider Javier Jose Castellano imposed on Cloud Computing in the 142nd edition of the Preakness Stakes, second valid of the American Triple Crown, disputed in the racecourse of Pimlico, with prize of 1,500,000 dollars and distance of 1,900 meters.

2016 Preakness Stakes 141 winner: Exaggerator

There will be no Triple Crown this year. Nyquist suffered his first-ever loss at the Preakness Stakes, thanks to a strong stretch-run performance by Exaggerator, who took home the trophy.

2015 Preakness Stakes 140 winner: American Pharoah

The 140th Preakness Stakes or the Preakness Stakes 2015 is over and American Pharoah successfully made it to be on top of the several competitors joined the event. This horse racing event was held at the Pimlico Racetrack in Baltimore, Maryland.

2014 Preakness Stakes 139 winner: California Chrome

California Chrome, dubbed the "people's horse" by his connections, became the fifth California-bred horse to win the Preakness and the first since Snow Chief in 1986. He was also the first California-bred horse to win the Kentucky Derby since 1962.

Horse Racing Odds Calculator

Quick and easy Horse betting tools are the answer to all your Horse racing answers.

Racebook Betting Calculators is a professional systematic approach to Horse Racing and all sports Betting. Betting calculators tailored to all sports betting requirements whether it be horse racing, football fixed odds, greyhound racing or any other type of Sports. Calculates theoretical odds based on your own rated odds and a comparative set of odds for identifying any overlays, Bet an exacta box, trifecta horse betting or quinella horse bet and use our Horse racing odds calculator to see what your return on your winnings for every horse race.

Live horses odds converter
Horses racing odds calculator
Exacta odds predictor
Quinella price predictor
Trifecta horse racing calculator

Hollywood Park

Santa Anita Track

Del Mar Race Park

Aqueduct Race Track

Saratoga Race Park

Churchill Downs

Pimlico Race Track

Triple Crown TV Schedule


US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.


Hollywood Park

Santa Anita Track

Del Mar Race Park

Saratoga Track

Aqueduct race track

Pimlico Race Track

Churchill Downs

Kentucky Derby

Preakness Stakes

Belmont Stakes

Breeders Cup